Georgian Technical University


Georgian Technical University (GTU) was established in 1922. With 95 years of experience GTU is one of the largest and oldest universities in Caucasus. Research and teaching activities of GTU cover broad spectrum of disciplines, ranging from engineering science to natural science, economics, management, and humanities. GTU consists of 8 faculties: Civil Engineering, Power Engineering and Telecommunication, Mining and Geology, Chemical Technology and Metallurgy, Architecture, Urban Planning and Design, Informatics and Control Systems, Transportation and Mechanical Engineering and Business Engineering. GTU also includes  28 departments and 14 scientific-educational centres. More than 17000 students are studying at GTU served by 1270 professors and 500 technical staff. Since 2005 GTU actively is involved in Bologna Process and provides Bachelor’s, Master’s and Doctoral programs as well as vocational education.

Department involved



Department of Logistics


Department of Logistics was funded in 2010 at the faculty of Transportation and Mechanical Engineering. The Department provides study programmes at Bachelor, Master and Doctoral degrees. Research activities and topics include: Supply Chain Management and benchmark of performance metrics, SmaLog, development of logistics centres and multimodal facilities, management of public transport, corridor management.

Keywords: Transport, transport systems, logistics.

Contact Person: Prof. Giorgi Doborjginidze .



Web address:

Social page:

GTU Team in SmaLog

Photo Name and Surname Title email
  Giorgi Doborjginidze Professor, Dr., Director of Department of Logistics
  Temur Ugulava
  Otar Gelashvili Professor, Dr., Dean of Faculty of Transportation and Mechanical Engineering  



Main international publication of the team